Tags

, , ,

Moses

Moses

“Don’t take bribes. Bribes blind perfectly good eyes and twist the speech of good people.” ~God to Moses Exodus 23:8 The Message (MSG)

How about this from the book of Job?

“Don’t let your great riches mislead you; don’t think you can bribe your way out of this.” ~Elihu to Job (Job 36:16-21)

Donald Trump epitomizes what is wrong with our system. Mr. Trump bragged Thursday night that he could buy politicians. Trump was asked about something he said in a earlier interview:

“When you give, they do whatever the hell you want them to do. You’d better believe it,” Trump said. “If I ask them, if I need them, you know, most of the people on this stage I’ve given to, just so you understand, a lot of money.” And more “I was a businessman. I give to everybody. When they call, I give. And you know what? When I need something from them, two years later, three years later, I call them, and they are there for me.”

Just because you can do something doesn’t make it right. He was repeatedly asked what he got in return for his donations.

“With Hillary Clinton, I said be at my wedding and she came to my wedding. You know why? She didn’t have a choice because I gave. I gave to a foundation that, frankly, that foundation is supposed to do good.” ~Donald Trump

Is this bribery or just undo influence? 

Here is the legal definition and distinction:

The offering, giving, receiving, or soliciting of something of value for the purpose of influencing the action of an official in the discharge of his or her public or legal duties. To offer or provide payment in order to persuade someone with a responsibility to betray that responsibility is known as seeking Undue Influence over that person’s actions. When someone with power seeks payment in exchange for certain actions, that person is said to be peddling influence. Regardless of who initiates the deal, either party to an act of bribery can be found guilty of the crime independently of the other.”

Source:  firstlook.org

