Tags

, , , , ,

Babies

Babies

This is interesting. There is a fine dance going on here. Recently, Rubio has supported a bill that would have banned abortion after 20 weeks, and the bill did include exceptions for rape or incest. So Rubio has supported legislation with exceptions. There is no evidence,however, that Rubio has generally favored those types of exceptions, and you can’t find him specifically advocating for them.

What are we to make of this? Hard to say.

Here was the exchange between U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio and moderator Megyn Kelly on Aug. 6:

Kelly: “You favor a rape and incest exception to abortion bans. Cardinal Timothy Dolan of New York just said yesterday those exceptions are preposterous. He said they discriminate against an entire class of human beings. If you believe that life begins at conception, as you say you do, how do you justify ending a life just because it begins violently, through no fault of the baby?”

Rubio: “Well, Megyn, first of all, I’m not sure that that’s a correct assessment of my record. I would go on to add that I believe all –“

Kelly: “You don’t favor a rape and incest exception?”

Rubio: “I have never said that. And I have never advocated that. What I have advocated is that we pass law in this country that says all human life at every stage of its development is worthy of protection. In fact, I think that law already exists. It is called the Constitution of the United States.”

via Rubio said he’s never advocated for abortion exceptions for rape or incest | PolitiFact Florida.

