Tags

, ,

I will never forget that day. I was in Syracuse, NY.

Originally I was scheduled to fly on a flight out of Boston that morning. I had changed my plans to fly from Syracuse. We had a large meeting going on in our office. There was a TV in the meeting room. A colleague alerted me that I needed come in and see what was happening. We all gathered around the TV to see what was going on.

We saw the second plane hit. We saw both towers go down. We saw the devastation to the Pentagon. We heard of the flight going down in Pennsylvania. All in real time as it happened.

Each event was a blow to our gut.

Who could do this to us?

Why were we being attacked and Americans dying?

What was happening and what would be next?

It was horrible. We couldn’t make it stop. This was real and not a nightmare.

We had staff gathered from all over New York state. Some were from the NYC metro area. We sent everyone home to be with their families.

I just wanted to be close to my son and he came home from school early. I hugged him. We sat and watched TV for days until I just couldn’t stand it any more.

I will NEVER forget that day. It was September 11, 2001.

So … here we are on September 11, 2015 still fighting against the radical Islamist Jihad. Who would have thought.

