Tags

,

Dr. Ben Carson

Dr. Ben Carson

I don’t understand Dr. Carson. I really like him and had hoped his campaign would gain traction. It didn’t. I’ve written very favorable about him. 

He dropped out. Last week he endorsed Mr. Trump. Has he simply forgotten what Mr. Trump said about him? Or has he forgiven him? We don’t know exactly. 

This morning, Ben Carson appeared on the Today Show and made the case for the man he endorsed, Donald Trump, as only he can . . .

He thinks deeply, and does have some openness to spiritual things, which is not the impression you would get from the persona on stage . . .

There is a reason, I think, non of us get that impression. I don’t think it is true. 

On Trump’s “punch them in the face” comments:

That’s not the way I would handle that, but recognize that the people of America are at a different place than I am at. They’re so frustrated, angry, they’re tired of people trying to manipulate them. And I think you’re seeing a magnetic phenomenon going on here. He actually represents where people are. Now does that mean we need to stay at that place? No, it means we need to work towards something very different. We the American people have to realize that we are not each other’s enemies. There are others out there, like radical Islamic terrorists, who want to destroy us, those are your enemies. We have to stop and focus on the real enemy here.

If you think “we need to work towards something very different” from where the people are, why would you think Donald Trump would be the right guy to do that? Does Carson genuinely think a Trump presidency would lead to a less angry America? A less divided one?

Carson concluded:

I think certainly if the protesters continue with their Alinsky-ite tactics, there is a real possibility of escalation. Because those who are the victims of them have two choices: they can submit to them, and meekly do whatever those protesters want them to do, or they can fight back. If they decide to fight back, there could be an escalation.

Trump, back on November 13, discussing Carson:

He wrote a book and in the book, he said terrible things about himself. He said that he’s pathological and he’s got basically pathological disease . . . I don’t want a person that’s got pathological disease.’

I said that if you’re a child molester, a sick puppy, a child molester, there’s no cure for that — there’s only one cure and we don’t want to talk about that cure, that’s the ultimate cure. No there’s two, there’s death and the other thing. But if you’re a child molester, there’s no cure, they can’t stop you. Pathological, there’s no cure.”

Going on about Carson’s life story: “How stupid are the people of Iowa? How stupid are the people of the country to believe this crap?”

Trump, yesterday:

DICKERSON: But that’s what I want to ask, about the playing of the game, because when you were with Ben Carson, who endorsed you this week, you said he was pathological. And then both of you said, well, oh, that was just politics. So, you’re saying it’s just the game. But if the most serious things you say about a person are just politics, it’s just the game, then why isn’t everything you’re saying just a game and just politics and totally open to revision?

TRUMP: Well, that is politics. I say bad things about people and they say bad things about me. And actually Ben wrote it in his book. I just read sections of his book. I read what Ben wrote. I’m not going to make up anything.

And for this he gets endorsed? I think something else is going on. I guess, in time, we may see. 

