Tags

, ,

We promised to always remember. The Flight 93 National Memorial in Shanksville, Pennsylvania, remembers the 40 passengers and crew who died there. The huge 757 plane crashed into a grassy field, killing everyone on board.

Terrorists had taken control of the plane. It was decided later that they were on a suicide operation to Washington.

The passengers knew about the other attacks that had taken place a short time earlier. They understood what was probably going to happen to them, and decided to fight back.

Let’s Roll”

~Todd Beamer

According to the 9/11 Commission Report, after the plane’s voice data recorder was recovered, it revealed pounding and crashing sounds against the cockpit door and shouts and screams in English. “Let’s get them!” a passenger cries. A hijacker shouts, “Allahu akbar!” (“God is great”). Jarrah repeatedly pitched the plane to knock passengers off their feet, but the passengers continued their assault and at 10:02:17, a male passenger said, “Turn it up!”

A second later, a hijacker said, “Pull it down! Pull it down!” At 10:02:33, Jarrah was heard to plead, “Hey! Hey! Give it to me. Give it to me. Give it to me. Give it to me. Give it to me. Give it to me. Give it to me. Give it to me.”

The plane crashed into an empty field in Shanksville, Pennsylvania at 580 miles an hour, killing everyone on board. The plane was twenty minutes of flying time away from its suspected target, the White House or the U.S. Capitol Building in Washington, D.C. According to Vice President Dick Cheney, President George W. Bush had given the order to shoot the plane down had it continued its path to Washington.

The U.S. National Park Service operates the national memorial in Shanksville. It has recordings of messages some passengers left on loved ones’ voicemails.

Tuesday, 9:47 a.m. Hi Baby. Baby, you have to listen to me carefully. I’m on a plane that’s been hijacked, I’m on the plane, I’m calling from the plane. I want to tell you I love you. Please tell my children that I love them very much..”

CeeCee Lyles was a flight attendant on the plane. She tells her husband three men had hijacked the plane and that she was trying to stay calm. Then, just before the plane crashed, she ends her heart-breaking message this way:

“I hope to be able to see your face again baby, I love you. Goodbye…

Source: 15 Years After 9/11 Attacks, Americans Remember

